We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Paperback / ISBN-13: 9781399708029

Price: £15.99

ON SALE: 14th September 2023

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘Perfect for fans of The Crown and Downton Abbey ‘ Hazel Gaynor, bestselling author of The Last Lifeboat

‘A breathtakingly glamorous and escapist read’ Irish Times

Kathleen ‘Kick’ Kennedy, recently arrived from Boston, is already a huge hit in 1930s London society. As the daughter of the US ambassador, she is at the centre of the most elite social circles. But when she falls for a duke-in-waiting, she realises there are plenty of people who think she doesn’t belong.

Lady Brigid Guinness has no interest in love, marriage or society connections. But her brother-in-law Chips Channon has other ideas – and seems intent on pushing her towards a match with a dull German prince.

When Chips invites the Kennedys and a select group of friends and family to Kelvedon Hall, his country estate, Brigid and Kick discover that beneath the brittle facade of politeness, marriages are on the rocks, political intrigue abounds and nothing is really as it seems – all while the war in Europe grows closer by the day.

By the time their week in Essex has ended, both Kick and Brigid realise that their world is changing rapidly, and their hopes and plans for the future may have to change too . . .

Inspired by true-life events, An Invitation to the Kennedys is a spell-binding page-turner from the bestselling author of the Guinness Girls series.

‘Full of rich details and dizzying descriptions worthy of Downton, it’s a really enjoyable piece of escapism’ Woman’s Way

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Fans of Downton Abbey will adore this
Sunday Times
Gripping ... this dramatic novel takes us into the heart of their privileged, beautiful and often painful hidden world
Irish Country Magazine
Another absorbing and glamorous page-turner from Hourican
The Gloss Magazine
A breathtakingly glamorous and escapist read, with all of the natural drama of two wealthy dynasties set against the backdrop of war
The Irish Times
An utterly captivating insight into these fascinating women and the times they lived in ... it's an absolute page-turner
Irish Independent
Masterfully and glamorously told ... essential reading for history and gossip lovers alike
Sunday Business Post
Full of rich details and dizzying descriptions worthy of Downton, it's a really enjoyable piece of escapism
Womans Way
This is a captivating story of high society, forbidden love and a world on the cusp of change from the bestselling author of the Guinness Girls series
Irish Country Magazine