Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Weekend Dad

The Weekend Dad

Guaranteed to appeal to fans of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls, The Weekend Dad is a warmhearted novel about parenthood, family and new beginnings.

‘Would you like to see some pictures?’
‘I’d love to.’ After all, what father wouldn’t want to see pictures of his daughter? A father who was scared, that’s who.
I’m not a grown-up. I’m really not. I don’t have a job, or savings, or a pension. I don’t have a wife or a dog, a car or a house. But I do, suddenly, have a daughter.

Six weeks ago, Emmett became a father – to seven-year-old girl Misty. Leaving Dublin for London to bond with the daughter he never knew existed seems like the right thing to do, though he’s not quite sure how he fits into Misty’s life, or her mother’s. When Emmett knew Amanda they were both students. Today, she’s a successful career woman with proper plans for her future – and he’s a struggling poet, trying to connect with his daughter during their awkward weekend visits.
But then Amanda surprises Emmett with an unexpected proposition, and he finds himself with some big decisions to make . . .
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 4th January 2018

Price: £13.99

ISBN-13: 9781473660755

Reviews

Beautifully told
Sunday Independent on All That I Leave Behind
A powerful story ... Walsh shows an innate understanding of people's lives, and the emotional truths that underpin them
Kathleen MacMahon on All That I Leave Behind
A brave and thought-provoking novel
Irish Independent on The House on Seaview Road