index

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all

Coming soon

Our books

In My Day

By Rob Stears
Authors:
Rob Stears
'Sharp, funny, touching, thinky' Colm O'ReganA hilarious illustrated look at the evolution of a nation, from the bestselling author of Why I Love My MumPopular illustrator Rob Stears looks at the habits of the Irish, and portrays the ways we've changed since the old days' - when coffee drinking was a spoon of instant, directions were a magical mystery tour, and age eighteen was a reasonable time to move out of the family home. From politics to entertainment, from food and drink to trends and fashions, In My Day also celebrates those things that never change - such as our devotion to the magical healing qualities of 7Up.

I'm Right Here

By Yvonne Cassidy
Authors:
Yvonne Cassidy
For readers who loved The Invention of Wings, I'm Right Here is the startling story of two girls inextricably linked across time and distance. 'I always knew about Grandad's gift - being able to communicate with dead people. When he told me it was my gift too, I didn't understand what that would mean until I began to hear E.L. And that's when the trouble really started ...'Cassie's life is falling apart. She's lost her grandfather, her mother has appeared on national TV talking about her own abusive childhood, and now her father has just moved out of their Brooklyn brownstone. So when she starts to hear the voice of E.L., a young slave girl living on a plantation in South Carolina one-hundred-and-fifty years before Cassie was born, she feels like she's losing her mind - and nobody except E.L. is listening to her. As Cassie gets drawn into E.L.'s world, the lines between her life and E.L.'s become more blurred and her obsession with helping E.L. escape begins to take over her life. But what happens to Cassie if E.L.'s future is already written? I'm Right Here is an unforgettable story about identity, loss and friendship and ultimately, what it means to be free

I'll Be Home for Christmas

By Roisin Meaney
Authors:
Roisin Meaney
A feel-good tale of magic, sparkle and new beginnings from Roisin Meaney, author of The Reunion, One Summer and The People Next Door.It's three days before Christmas ...Tilly boards a plane on the other side of the world. She's determined to reach Roone, a small island off the west coast of Ireland, in time for Christmas Day. Tilly carries a troubling secret and Laura, a woman she's never met, might be the only one who can help her.Except that Laura has no idea that Tilly exists. And with five children, a mother-in-law stranded on the island and a husband with whom she's barely on speaking terms, an unexpected Christmas guest is the last thing she needs . . .A storm is heading for the island, but will peace be restored before the snow melts?

In The Shelter

By Pádraig Ó Tuama
Authors:
Pádraig Ó Tuama
Hello to here.Hello to the name of here.What is the name for the place where you now are?To name a place requires us to be in a place. It requires close looking; it requires the dedication of observation and the commitment to truth. It requires us to resist dreaming of where we should be, and look around where we are.In this book of contemplation, poet, storyteller and theologian Padraig O Tuama relates ideas of shelter to journeys of life, opening up gentle ways of living well in a troubled world.Drawing inspiration from the Irish saying 'It is the shelter of each other that the people live', it also reflects on Jesus' simple greeting to his disciples on Easter Sunday, as described in the fourth gospel, as it invites us into a place of deep encounter with ourselves, our fears, each other and the sense of divinity embodied in a simple word: 'Hello'.Interweaving everyday stories with narrative theology, gospel reflections with mindfulness, and Celtic spirituality with poetry, In The Shelter reveals the transformational power of welcome.

It's Not Yet Dark

By Simon Fitzmaurice
Authors:
Simon Fitzmaurice
'If you are hungry for truth and beauty, read this book' Roisin Ingle, The Irish Times'A demonstration of a will to live that is breathtaking ... a work of documentary poetry ... an extraordinary read' The Herald'An unforgettable read about what it means to be alive' Woman's Way'The world "inspirational" is over-used, but if ever a book deserved this epithet, this is it' Sunday Independent'Sparsely and beautifully written .. the human spirit and will to live shines out of these pages' Irish IndependentA No.1 bestseller, It's Not Yet Dark is an unforgettable book about relationships and family, about what connects and separates us as people and, ultimately, about what it means to be alive.In 2008, Simon Fitzmaurice was diagnosed with Motor Neurone Disease (mnd). He was given four years to live. In 2010, in a state of lung-function collapse, Simon knew with crystal clarity that now was not his time to die. Against all prevailing medical opinion, he chose to ventilate in order to stay alive.Here, the young filmmaker, a husband and father of five small children draws us deeply into his inner world. Written using an eye-gaze computer and told in simply expressed and beautifully stark prose, the result is an astonishing journey into a life which, though brutally compromised, is lived more fully and in the moment than most, revealing at its core the power of love its most potent.

In The Woods

By Tana French
Authors:
Tana French

I've Got Cancer, What's Your Excuse?

By Anne Gildea
Authors:
Anne Gildea
Call it a mid-life crisis, but you reach a point where nothing makes sense anymore. Not the goals you set yourself, the years focussed on trying to achieve them, what was let go, what was gained along the way. You look back and think, Is that it? Then you get sick. And everything changes.'This startlingly honest and often hilarious memoir from one of Ireland's best-loved comediennes is told through the lens of cancer treatment and its aftermath. From the moment when she heard but didn't necessarily absorb the shocking diagnosis, through the months that followed, Gildea describes the mixed emotion of the journey, at once swept along on its tide and struggling to grapple with its effects.Through depression, comedy, Catholicism, chemotherapy, the bog, emigration, sex, mastectomy, fear and love, I've Got Cancer, What's Your Excuse? takes a refreshingly irreverent look at life, the stuff it throws at you, and what you do with it, as it ultimately asks: 'Did cancer save me?

Intentions

By Muriel Bolger
Authors:
Muriel Bolger
Three People . . .Beatrice Cullen - the beautiful, career-driven Dubliner. So far she hasn't met anyone who has made her want to give up her independent lifestyle and freedom. Until she encounters . . .Damien Doyle - the charismatic Dean of Students in a medical school in Dublin. But Damien is destined to travel to India for the summer to oversee a charity project in Mumbai. Once there, he is reunited with a former student . . .. . . the passionate young doctor Iswara Singhanid who is determined to go against her parents' wishes for her marriage and her career.As Damien and Iswara work together in the intense heat of Mumbai, Beatrice writes to Damien with news from home. But then tragedy strikes and all three find themselves irrevocably joined as tensions, prejudices and long-held traditions surface.Damien finds himself torn between responsibility and love, friendship and duty.From the leafy city parks of Dublin to the crowded streets of Mumbai, Intentions is an intricately drawn story of love and commitment and of the choices we all have to face.

I'm Glad You Asked Me That

By Eoghan Corry
Authors:
Eoghan Corry
In this compilation of Irish political quotations, we come face-to-face with the good, the bad and the ugly of Irish political life. Using the words of those in the trenches, and spanning decades of Irish politics, we chart the sometimes glorious but always eventful history of Irish politics. Covering everything from addresses to the nation, diplomatic incidents, and political gaffes to insults, state scandals, and the rise and fall of our best-known politicians, here is the very best and the very worst of Irish politics. Whatever your political tendencies, I'm Glad You Asked Me That will raise a smile - and a grimace - as Irish politicians and well-known political pundits bare all.
1