Martina Reilly - Proof - HachetteIreland

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473636682
    • Publication date:27 Apr 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473636705
    • Publication date:02 Jun 2016

Proof

By Martina Reilly

  • Paperback
  • £13.99

Applegate is a town where not a lot happens ... until now.

Applegate is a small town where everyone knows each other ... or thought they did.


But then Marcus Dillon finds himself on trial for the recent murder of Charles Hanratty - and the sole chance he has is the testimony of his childhood friend Sash. Because only she knows the truth about that night, fifteen years ago, when they broke into Hanratty's house.

And then there's Lana, Sash's sister. Lana knows the difference between right and wrong. She sees things. She remembers them. Someone just needs to ask her the right questions.

Applegate is a small town where not a lot happens ... until now.

Biographical Notes

Martina Reilly, formerly known as the author Tina Reilly, lives in County Kildare with her husband and two children. Catch up with Martina on her website www.tinareilly.info, on Facebook or on Twitter @MartinaReilly

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473636699
  • Publication date: 02 Jun 2016
  • Page count: 432
  • Imprint: Hachette Books Ireland
Proof is a perfect mix of crime and thriller, highlighting how one moment can determine the rest of your life — Irish Mail on Sunday
a cleverly constructed, pacy and engaging story — Irish Independent
Praise for Martina Reilly — :
Life-affirming and evocative. Her characters are very likeable and always convincing — Irish Independent
Very moving and completely absorbing — Melissa Hill
Compelling, heart-wrenching. Will keep you riveted to the end — Colette Caddle
Hachette Books Ireland

When She Was Gone

S.A. Dunphy
Authors:
S.A. Dunphy

When criminologist David Dunnigan receives the shocking delivery of one of his niece Beth's shoes, it reignites the eighteen-year-old investigation into her disappearance. But is Dunnigan ready for what he might find?New evidence links Beth's abduction to a series of suicides in an antiquated psychiatric hospital, and to an Inuit village in the frozen north of Greenland where the parents of Harry, a homeless boy Dunnigan and his friend Miley rescued from the streets, may have been trafficked.Can Dunnigan survive the hunt, and will he find Beth after all this time?

Hachette Books Ireland

After She Vanished

S.A. Dunphy
Authors:
S.A. Dunphy

'A cracking debut thriller packed with great characters that leaves the reader wanting more' Irish IndependentHe turned away for a split second. And she was gone.Eighteen years ago David Dunnigan took his beloved six-year-old niece Beth on a shopping trip. They stopped on a crowded street to hear some buskers. She took her hand from his for a split second. And when he turned around, she was gone. Now Dunnigan, his life shattered, is a criminology lecturer and also works as a consultant for the National Bureau of Criminal Investigation in Harcourt Street, specialising in cases involving missing persons. That's how he crosses paths with Harry, a young boy living on the streets whose parents have disappeared. As Dunnigan finds himself drawn into the world of The Warrens, a transient place where the dark underbelly of society lives, will he be able to help Harry? And what of Beth will he find there?

Hachette Books Ireland

Family Business

Muriel Bolger
Authors:
Muriel Bolger

'Few do beach reads with as much sparkle as Muriel Bolger' Image A fresh, summery new novel about family, friendship and future plans from bestselling author Muriel Bolger.Young, clever and accomplished, Anne is fully committed to her career at her father's law practice - much to the delight of her parents and the not-so-hidden resentment of her younger sister Gabby. She doesn't have time to think of her dreams of art college, or, indeed, the lack of love in her life.Then Anne finds herself facing charismatic barrister Daniel Hassett in court. Equally ambitious, they seem to be the perfect match. But just as Anne and Daniel's relationship heats up, a series of shocking events forceAnne to question what she really wants.Will an unexpected French inheritance be just the thing to help her decide a way forward - in law and in love? Or should she risk everything she's worked so hard for?

Hachette Books Ireland

The Street Where You Live

Roisin Meaney
Authors:
Roisin Meaney

The new bestseller from one of Ireland's best-loved writers ... It's the hottest heatwave in years and as preparations for an end-of-summer concert get underway, the notes soar. But so, too, do the scandals and secrets ...Choir member Molly sees a young boy who she's convinced is her grandson, but how does she find out the truth when her son Philip ran away to New Zealand five years ago?Meanwhile Molly's daughter Emily has fallen in love for the second time in her life. Except this time it's with the wrong man ... While choir leader Christopher, who closed off his heart to love a long time ago, is making do with snatched trysts with new member Jane - who also happens to be married. But then American author Freddie moves in next door and suddenly things begin to get complicated.As performance night approaches, the heatwave breaks and members of the choir discover that their lives intertwine more than they could ever have imagined. But are the inhabitants of the town ready for what happens next?

Hachette Books Ireland

Summer at the Garden Cafe

Felicity Hayes-McCoy
Authors:
Felicity Hayes-McCoy
Hachette Books Ireland

The Summer Visitors

Fiona O'Brien
Authors:
Fiona O'Brien
Hachette Books Ireland

The American Girl

Rachael English
Authors:
Rachael English
Hachette Books Ireland

Horace Winter Says Goodbye

Conor Bowman
Authors:
Conor Bowman
Hachette Books Ireland

I'm Right Here

Yvonne Cassidy
Authors:
Yvonne Cassidy
Hachette Books Ireland

The Wedding Promise

Emma Hannigan
Authors:
Emma Hannigan

The heartwarming new novel from this No.1 bestselling authorRestoring a romantic, crumbling villa brings Shelly back to the small Spanish village she and her husband Gerry fell in love with before they married - fulfilling a wedding-day promise he made to her that they would return. But as plans to transform the villa into a stunning wedding venue take shape, Shelly discovers that her grown-up children might need the new move more than she does . . .Jake has begun to question the things he values most: his career as a pilot, his relationship with his girlfriend Fee. Could Spain offer him the change he's desperately seeking?And when Leila arrives in Spain with a newborn baby in tow, she soon finds herself getting caught up in the fledgling business. But then she hears some startling news she wasn't expecting . . .As Casa Maria takes its first booking, will it turn out to be more than a romantic promise made all those years ago? Perhaps a second chance at new beginnings?Emma Hannigan - Stories You'll Want to Share

Hachette Books Ireland

Without Him

Fiona O'Brien
Authors:
Fiona O'Brien
Hachette Books Ireland

Falling Softly

Maria Duffy
Authors:
Maria Duffy
Hachette Books Ireland

The Husband

Deirdre Purcell
Authors:
Deirdre Purcell
Hachette Books Ireland

The House on Seaview Road

Alison Walsh
Authors:
Alison Walsh
Hachette Books Ireland

The Library at the Edge of the World

Felicity Hayes-McCoy
Authors:
Felicity Hayes-McCoy

"A charming and heartwarming story"- Jenny Colgan, New York Times bestselling author of The Cafe by the SeaA warm, feel-good novel about the importance of finding a place where you belong - perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy.Local librarian Hanna Casey is wondering where it all went wrong ...Driving her mobile library van through Finfarran's farms and villages, she tries not to think of the sophisticated London life she abandoned when she left her cheating husband. Or that she's now stuck in her crotchety mum's spare bedroom.With her daughter Jazz travelling the world and her relationship with her mother growing increasingly fraught, Hanna decides to reclaim her independence.Then, when the threatened closure of her library puts her plans in jeopardy, she finds herself leading a battle to restore the heart and soul of the fragmented community.Will she also find the new life she's been searching for?"The Library at The Edge of the World is a delicious feast of a novel. Sink in and feel enveloped by the beautiful world of Felicity Hayes-McCoy." -Cathy Kelly, bestselling author of Between Sisters and Secrets of a Happy Marriage

Hachette Books Ireland

The Rising

Bairbre Toibin
Authors:
Bairbre Toibin

When Margaret Dempsey, daughter of a prosperous town merchant, falls in love with Michael Carty, son of a Fenian farmer, her family strongly disapprove. Bound closer by adversity, the couple enter their married life idealistic, yet innocent. Soon, however, their idyll is threatened, as Michael finds himself drawn into the struggle for Irish independence. Revolutionary movements bring the outside world crashing in on them, threatening all they hold dear. In 1916, Margaret fights to keep their growing family safe against the odds.Told in prose of extraordinary clarity, The Rising is a profoundly moving love story that delves deep into the mindset of Irish Republicanism, along with the complex social relationships of town and country during that era. An engrossing account of family, memory, history and belonging.

Hachette Books Ireland

This is Now

Ciara Geraghty
Authors:
Ciara Geraghty
Hachette Books Ireland

The Difference

Justine Delaney Wilson
Authors:
Justine Delaney Wilson

On a January morning, Beth and Steve bring three-day-old Ismae home from the hospital. A little girl to complete their suburban family.Except Beth knows that Ismae is different. And that, as she gets older and stronger, her difference will become more obvious.As the future Beth imagined grows even more out of reach, the walls of their vast house close in on her, isolating her from Steve.Then she makes a terrible discovery ...Will Ismae's difference break her family apart? Or will Beth be able to see that it's the one thing that can save her?'Little Ismae is an unforgettable character ... readers will be glad they've met her'BELINDA McKEON 'A novel about one woman's quest for an authentic life. When extraordinary new baby Ismae turns Beth's world inside out, she begins to understand the fierce power of mother-love and,through her daughter, learns to know and trust herself. A moving, convincing story of courage and burgeoning hope' NUALA O'CONNOR, AUTHOR OF MISS EMILY

Hachette Books Ireland

No Reservations

Fiona O'Brien
Authors:
Fiona O'Brien
Hachette Books Ireland

None of My Affair

Fiona O'Brien
Authors:
Fiona O'Brien