Related to: 'Violet Hill'

Hachette Books Ireland

The Birthday Party

Roisin Meaney
Authors:
Roisin Meaney
Hachette Books Ireland

The Heart of Everything

Henrietta McKervey
Authors:
Henrietta McKervey

The Heart of Everything is a taut and compelling account of the nature of family relationships and the uneasy grasp of the past over the present. Perfect for fans of Anne Tyler and Maggie O'Farrell.Mags Jensen begins her day as she always does - with a list. Once it is complete, she lays the table for lunch, spritzes perfume on her wrists and shuts the front door behind her.That afternoon, her daughter Anita is irritated to discover the house empty. But as afternoon turns to evening, irritation turns to fear, her mother's recent tests for early-stage dementia looming in Anita's mind.As the hours tick by with no word from Mags, the siblings are summoned home to join the search. Over several days, old tensions rise to the surface, harking back to an earlier tragedy that splintered the family. Powerful revelations take hold between the siblings, and their efforts to find Mags become increasingly frantic, as they are forced to ask: will they ever see their mother again?

Hachette Books Ireland

What Becomes of Us

Henrietta McKervey
Authors:
Henrietta McKervey
Hachette Books Ireland

The Doll's House

Louise Phillips
Authors:
Louise Phillips

**Winner of the BGE Crime Fiction Book of the Year 2013 Award**People say that the truth can set you free. But what if the truth is not something you want to hear?Thirty-five years ago Adrian Hamilton drowned. At the time his death was reported as a tragic accident but the exact circumstances remained a mystery. Now his daughter Clodagh, trying to come to terms with her past, visits a hypnotherapist who unleashes disturbing childhood memories of her father's death. And as Clodagh delves deeper into her subconscious, memories of another tragedy come to light - the death of her baby sister.Meanwhile criminal psychologist Dr Kate Pearson is called in to help in the investigation of a murder after a body is found in a Dublin canal. When Kate digs beneath the surface of the killing, she discovers a sinister connection to the Hamilton family.What terrible events took place in the Hamilton house all those years ago? And what connects them to the recent murder?Time is running out for Clodagh and Kate.And the killer has already chosen his next victim . . .

Hachette Books Ireland

Red Ribbons

Louise Phillips
Authors:
Louise Phillips

Alison Walsh

Alison Walsh has worked in publishing and literary journalism for a number of years. She wrote a popular and humorous column on family life for the Irish Independent for some years, and this was followed by a memoir on motherhood, In My Mother's Shoes, which became a number-one Irish bestseller in 2010. She is a regular contributor to the Sunday Independent books pages. Alison lives in Dublin with her husband and three children.Follow her on Twitter at @authoralison or visit her website at www.alisonwalsh.net

Conor Bowman

Conor Bowman was born on a Thursday in the west of Ireland. He is left-handed and hates coriander. In 1986, he stood up Samuel Beckett and has always regretted it. Incredibly, he was once offered a place to study in Cambridge University and that year changed his life. His favourite writers are Graham Greene and A.M. Homes. Conor also writes songs. He has no mobile phone. He is not afraid of umbrellas and has an average sugar reading of 7.8. His hero is Elvis Presley. His favourite film is The 39 Steps. Conor works as a senior counsel and lives in Meath. He is married with four children.

Declan Lynch

Declan Lynch began his writing career at the age of seventeen with Ireland's rock and roll magazine Hot Press and now writes for the Sunday Independent. He is the author of several works of fiction and non-fiction, including the acclaimed novel The Rooms, and The Ponzi Man.

Emily Hourican

Emily Hourican is a journalist and author. She has written features for the Sunday Independent for fifteen years, as well as Image magazine, Conde Nast Traveler and Woman and Home. She was also editor of The Dubliner Magazine. Emily's first book, a memoir titled How To (Really) Be A Mother was published in 2013. She is also the author of novels The Privileged, White Villa and The Blamed. She lives in Dublin with her family.

Emma Hannigan

Emma Hannigan was the beloved and bestselling author of thirteen novels, including the No.1 bestseller Letters to My Daughters.Her bestselling memoir Talk to the Headscarf was updated and revised as All To Live For: Fighting Cancer. Finding Hope. In 2007 Emma was diagnosed with breast cancer and her eleven-year battle with cancer began. As an ambassador for Breast Cancer Ireland Emma worked to dispel the fears around cancer and spread hope about new treatments. In February 2018 Emma shared that her team of dedicated doctors had exhausted all avenues in terms of her treatment. She launched a social media campaign #HelpEmmaHelpOthers to raise ?100,000 for Breast Cancer Ireland. Two weeks later, shortly before her death, Emma's target had been reached. In the final months of her life, Emma completed her thirteenth novel, The Gift of Friends, sending her acknowledgements to her editor just days before she passed away.

Felicity Hayes-McCoy

Felicity Hayes-McCoy, author of the best-selling Finfarran series, was born in Dublin, Ireland. She studied literature at UCD before moving to England in the 1970s to train as an actress. Her work as a writer ranges from TV and radio drama and documentary, to screenplays, music theatre, memoir and children's books. Her Finfarran novels are widely read on both sides of the Atlantic, and in Australia, and have been translated into six languages. She and her husband, opera director Wilf Judd, live in the West Kerry Gaeltacht and in Bermondsey, London. She blogs about life in both places on her website www.felicityhayesmccoy.co.uk and you can follow her on Twitter @fhayesmccoy and on Facebook at Felicity Hayes-McCoy Author.

Louise Phillips

LOUISE PHILLIPS is the author of four bestselling psychological crime thrillers. Her debut novel RED RIBBONS, and her subsequent novels, THE DOLL'S HOUSE, LAST KISS and THE GAME CHANGER, were each nominated for Best Irish Crime Novel of the Year. She won the award in 2013. Louise's work has formed part of many literary anthologies, and she has won both the Jonathan Swift Award and the Irish Writers' Centre Lonely Voice platform, along with being shortlisted for the Molly Keane Memorial Award, Bridport UK, and many others. In 2015, she was awarded a writing residency at Cill Rialaig Artist retreat and she was also a judge on the Irish panel for the EU Literary Award. In 2016, she was longlisted for the prestigious CWA Dagger in the Library Award, and her first two novels, RED RIBBONS and THE DOLL'S HOUSE, were published in the US. Her current novel, THE HIDING GAME, received an Arts Bursary for Literature from the Arts Council of Ireland.

Maria Duffy

When Maria Duffy left her career in the bank to become a stay-at-home mum, she never dreamed that writing, something she's always loved, would become her job one day. She lives in Dublin with her husband Paddy and their four children.Her bestselling novels include Any Dream Will Do, One Wish and A Love Like This.

Martina Reilly

Martina Reilly, formerly known as the author Tina Reilly, lives in County Kildare with her husband and two children. Catch up with Martina on her website www.tinareilly.info, on Facebook or on Twitter @MartinaReilly

Melanie Murphy

Melanie Murphy is an author and online content creator from a small village in Dublin.Her YouTube videos have amassed more than sixty million views online, reaching people with her warm personality and life lessons as well as views on divisive topics such as sexuality, women's rights, health and relationships. Also, some silly fun stuff, just 'cause.Melanie's first non-fiction book, Fully Functioning Human (Almost), was published in 2017 and was an Irish bestseller.She lives in Ireland with her pilot partner Thomas, her modern family, and her two glorious rescue kitties, Bilbo and Molly Weasley. Her BSc (hons) degree in Education & Training from DCU gathers dust above the fireplace as she writes books and uploads videos to the internet for a living.

Muriel Bolger

Muriel Bolger is a well-known Irish journalist and award-winning travel writer. In addition to her works of fiction she has also written four books on her native city, including Dublin - City of Literature (O'Brien Press), which won the Travel Extra Travel Guide Book of the Year 2012.

Rachael English

Rachael English is a bestselling novelist and presenter on Ireland's most popular radio show, Morning Ireland. During more than twenty years as a journalist, she has worked on most of RTÉ Radio's leading current affairs programmes, covering a huge range of national and international stories. The Bracelet is her fifth novel.

Roisin Meaney

Roisin Meaney was born in Listowel, Co Kerry, She has lived in the US, Canada, Africa and Europe but is now based in Limerick, Ireland. This Number One bestselling author is a consistent presence on the Irish bestseller list and she is the author of fifteen novels including three stand alone novels set in the fictional island off the west coast of Ireland: One Summer, After the Wedding and I'll Be Home for Christmas. Her other bestsellers include: The Last Week of May, The People Next Door, Half Seven on a Thursday, Love in the Making, The Things We Do For Love, Something in Common, Two Fridays in April, The Reunion and The Anniversary. She has also written books for children. Connect with Roisin Meaney on @roisinmeaneywww.roisinmeaney.com

S.A. Dunphy

S.A. Dunphy is the author of the David Dunnigan series, which includes After She Vanished, When She Was Gone and If She Returned.

Zoe Miller

Zoe Miller is married with three children. She lives in Dublin.Her novels include A Question of Betrayal, Someone New, A Husband's Confession, The Compromise and A House Full of Secrets.