Related to: 'The Deal'

Hachette Books Ireland

A Force for Justice

Michael Clifford
Authors:
Michael Clifford

When, in 2008, Sergeant Maurice McCabe complained of shoddy investigations into serious crime in County Cavan, nothing could have prepared him for what was in store.A career garda, McCabe never set out to be a whistleblower. However, over the following eight years, he exposed gross incompetence and corruption within An Garda Siochána. It ranged from a violent criminal being free to murder, to country-wide corruption in the policing of road safety.Along the way he paid a terrible price, enduring vilification, bullying and harassment by forces who wanted to silence him and his inconvenient truths. Worse still were the rumours of an extreme nature, which had a devastating effect on his whole family.McCabe's actions ultimately led to some of the biggest reforms of An Garda Siochána since the foundation of the state, caused major political upheaval, and culminated in a Tribunal established in 2017, to examine whether there had been a smear campaign against him within the force.A Force For Justice reveals the story behind the scenes, of one man struggling to survive in the most challenging of circumstances. It is a dramatic account of a garda sergeant's journey from a rural outpost into the heart of the Irish political and legal system.

Hachette Books Ireland

The Anniversary

Roisin Meaney
Authors:
Roisin Meaney

Three couples. One weekend. Everything is about to change...The sparkling and spellbinding new novel from Number One bestselling author Roisin MeaneyLily and Charlie separated after twenty-six years of marriage. Now, with their divorce due to come through in a matter of months, Lily, newly engaged to the dependable Joe, decides to get the whole family together for one last weekend at Land's End, their old summer home by the sea. Lily has to break some news to Charlie, her daughter Poll and son Thomas -- news she knows they're not going to be happy about.But as the family makes their way to Land's End with their new partners, Lily's best laid plans are about to go awry.As Charlie's much younger girlfriend Chloe guards her own secret, Poll seems intent on sabotaging her apparently perfect relationship, while Thomas wrestles with a decision he knows could break his family apart.And amid the drama, they've forgotten that this weekend also just happens to be Lily and Charlie's wedding anniversary ...Will all the couples survive the weekend intact?

Hachette Books Ireland

The Blamed

Emily Hourican
Authors:
Emily Hourican
Hachette Books Ireland

Letters to My Daughters

Emma Hannigan
Authors:
Emma Hannigan

The new heartwarming novel from Emma Hannigan, the No. 1 Irish bestselling author of The Perfect Gift and The Wedding Promise. Perfect for fans of Patricia Scanlan and Jojo Moyes. Throughout their lives, the three Brady sisters have always been closer to their nanny May than to their own mother, Martha a busy midwife. May always thought of them as her daughters so when she dies suddenly, the sisters are left devastated -- especially when they learn that letters intended for them from May with final words of advice and love have gone missing.But what words of advice could the sisters need?Beatrice, owner of exclusive wedding boutiques, is busy and fulfilled. Rose has a beautiful daughter, a luxurious home and a thriving interiors company. And Jeannie, married to a wealthy plastic surgeon in L.A., wants for nothing. Except that each of the sisters carries a secret ...And as they gather for the reading of May's will in Dublin, they must face some life-changing decisions. Will they ever learn the words of advice May had for them, and discover who took the letters?Letters to my Daughters is the spell-binding story about the complicated bonds between women -- daughters, mothers, sisters -- and how love and happiness comes in many guises.For love, laughter, tears and joy, read Emma Hannigan...

Hachette Books Ireland

Bertie Ahern and the Drumcondra Mafia

Shane Coleman, Michael Clifford
Authors:
Shane Coleman, Michael Clifford
Hachette Books Ireland

Ghost Town

Michael Clifford
Authors:
Michael Clifford
Hachette Books Ireland

Faithful Place

Tana French
Authors:
Tana French

The course of Frank Mackey's life was set by one defining moment when he was nineteen. The moment his girlfriend, Rosie Daly, failed to turn up for their rendezvous in Faithful Place, failed to run away with him to London as they had planned. Frank never heard from her again. Twenty years on, Frank is still in Dublin, working as an undercover cop. He's cut all ties with his dysfunctional family. Until his sister calls to say that Rosie's suitcase has been found. Frank embarks on a journey into his past that demands he reevaluate everything he believes to be true.

Declan Lynch

Declan Lynch began his writing career at the age of seventeen with Ireland's rock and roll magazine Hot Pressand now writes for the Sunday Independent. He is the author of several works of fiction and non-fiction, including the acclaimed novel The Rooms, and The Ponzi Man.

Deirdre Purcell

Deirdre Purcell was born and brought up in Dublin, and educated there and in a County Mayo convent. Before turning to the writing of fiction, she lived through an eclectic set of careers, including acting, as a member of the permanent company of Ireland`s National Theatre (The Abbey), and journalism for all media - for which she won Ireland's top awards. She has written numerous fiction and non-fiction bestsellers and regularly presents 'What it says in the papers' on RTE's Morning Ireland.

Emily Hourican

Emily Hourican is a journalist and author. She has written features for the Sunday Independent for ten years, as well as Image magazine, Conde Nast Traveler and Woman and Home. She was also editor of The Dubliner Magazine. Emily's first book, a memoir titled How To (Really) Be A Mother was published in 2013. She is also the author of novels The Privileged and White Villa. She lives in Dublin with her family.The Blamed is her third novel.

Emma Hannigan

Emma Hannigan is the author of thirteen bestselling books, including No.1 bestsellers The Perfect Gift, The Wedding Promise and Letters to My Daughters. She published her bestselling memoir Talk to the Headscarf in 2011, which has been updated and extended as All to Live For: Fighting Cancer. Finding Hope. www.emmahannigan.comFind Emma on twitter @MsEmmaHannigan

Felicity Hayes-McCoy

Felicity Hayes-McCoy was born in Dublin, Ireland. She studied literature at UCD before moving to England in the 1970s to train as an actress. Her work as a writer ranges from tv and radio drama and documentary, to screenplays, music theatre and children's books. Her fiction is widely read and is available in the US and Canada as well as Australia, Germany, Italy, Holland, France, China and South Korea. She and her husband, opera director Wilfred Judd, live in Corca Dhuibhne and in Bermondsey, London. She blogs about life in both places on her website www.felicityhayesmccoy.co.uk

Henrietta McKervey

Henrietta McKervey was born in Belfast and now lives in Dublin. She is the author of What Becomes of Us and The Heart of Everything.Violet Hill is her third novel. @hmckervey www.henriettamckervey.com

Kate McCabe

Kate McCabe is married with two children and lives in Howth in County Dublin. She is a former journalist and has published several bestselling novels including The Music of Love, The Spanish Letter, The Beach Bar, The Book Club and The Man of Her Dreams. Kate's hobbies include reading, music, travelling and walking along the beach in Howth while she thinks up plots for her stories.

Martina Reilly

Martina Reilly, formerly known as the author Tina Reilly, lives in County Kildare with her husband and two children. Catch up with Martina on her website www.tinareilly.info, on Facebook or on Twitter @MartinaReilly

Muriel Bolger

Muriel Bolger is a well-known Irish journalist and award-winning travel writer. In addition to her works of fiction she has also written four books on her native city, including Dublin - City of Literature (O'Brien Press), which won the Travel Extra Travel Guide Book of the Year 2012.

Roisin Meaney

Roisin Meaney was born in Listowel, Co Kerry, She has lived in the US, Canada, Africa and Europe but is now based in Limerick, Ireland. This Number One bestselling author is a consistent presence on the Irish bestseller list and she is the author of thirteen novels including three stand alone novels set in the fictional island off the west coast of Ireland: One Summer, After the Wedding and I'll Be Home for Christmas. Her other bestsellers include: The Last Week of May, The People Next Door, Half Seven on a Thursday, Love in the Making, The Things We Do For Love, Something in Common, Two Fridays in April and The Reunion. She has also written books for children. Connect with Roisin Meaney on @roisinmeaneywww.roisinmeaney.com

Susan Stairs

Susan Stairs lives in Dublin with her family. She is the acclaimed author of The Story of Before and The Boy Between.www.susanstairs.com

Tana French

Tana French grew up in Ireland, Italy, the United States and Malawi. She trained as an actor at Trinity College Dublin and has worked mainly in theatre. Her first novel, In the Woods, was published in 2007; it won the Edgar, Anthony, Macavity and Barry awards for Best First Novel and the IVCA Clarion Award for Best Fiction. In the Woods and her second novel, The Likeness, were both New York Times bestsellers. Broken Harbour won the BGE Crime Fiction Book of the Year award in 2012 and the LA Times prize for best Mystery/Thriller.She lives in Dublin with her husband and daughters.Tana French grew up in Ireland, Italy, the United States and Malawi. She is the author of In the Woods (winner of the Edgar, Anthony, Macavity and Barry awards for Best First Novel), The Likeness, Faithful Place and Broken Harbour (winner of the LA Times prize for Best Mystery/Thriller). She lives in Dublin with her husband and two children. She keeps a website at www.tanafrench.com

Zoe Miller

Zoe Miller is married with three children. She lives in Dublin.Her novels include A Question of Betrayal, Someone New, A Husband's Confession, The Compromise and A House Full of Secrets.