Alison Walsh - The House on Seaview Road - HachetteIreland

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473612860
    • Publication date:01 Sep 2016

The House on Seaview Road

By Alison Walsh

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The House on Seaview Road is a story about first love, growing up and about the enduring bonds of sisterhood.

The House on Seaview Road is a story about first love, growing up and about the enduring bonds of sisterhood. Perfect reading for fans of Joanna Trollope and Maggie O'Farrell.

Marie Stephenson has decided that it's her last summer in Seaview - just a few months left before she can break free of her suburban home, go out into the world and make her mark. If only it weren't for the promise she made to her dying mother. This promise, to look after her younger sister, is one she has always kept, even though Marie sometimes feels that the cosseted Grainne doesn't deserve it.

But then the sudden appearance of intense, rebellious Con on Seaview Beach one afternoon changes everything.

As her innocence comes to a sudden and shocking end, Marie must make some choices about her future.

But will she find the courage to become the woman she was meant to be?

Biographical Notes

Alison Walsh has worked in publishing and literary journalism for a number of years. She wrote a popular and humorous column on family life for the Irish Independent for some years, and this was followed by a memoir on motherhood, In My Mother's Shoes, which became a number-one Irish bestseller in 2010. She is a regular contributor to the Sunday Independent books pages.
Alison lives in Dublin with her husband and three children.
Follow her on Twitter at @authoralison or visit her website at www.alisonwalsh.net

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473612877
  • Publication date: 04 May 2017
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Hachette Books Ireland
A brave and thought-provoking novel — Irish Independent
Hachette Books Ireland

The Gift of Friends

Emma Hannigan
Authors:
Emma Hannigan

From the Number One bestselling author Emma Hannigan comes The Gift of Friends, a magical story of love, friendship and hope.Kingfishers Road - a leafy, peaceful street in the town of Vayhill. But there are whispers behind closed doors. Who is moving into Number 10?Engaged to handsome, wealthy Justin Johnston, Danielle appears to her new neighbours to have the perfect, glossy life. But not everything is as it seems...In fact, each of the other four women who live close by has a secret, and each is nursing their own private heartache.But could a gift be waiting on their doorsteps? And, by opening their front doors, and their hearts, to each other, could the women of Kingfishers Road discover all the help they need?This thirteenth and final novel from the beloved and inspiring Emma Hannigan is a life-affirming, uplifting story that celebrates the strength and joys of female friendship.

Hachette Books Ireland

In Search of Us

Maria Duffy
Authors:
Maria Duffy

From bestselling author Maria Duffy, In Search of Us is a story about sisters, friendship and bonds that never break.Twin sisters Ronnie and Elizabeth couldn't be more different.Happily living with her boyfriend Al, Ronnie loves her job in an antique jewellery shop - the only thing that's missing is the baby she's desperate to have.While wealthy, glamorous Elizabeth, owner of a thriving recruitment company in Dublin, is married to the equally successful Nathan - having a baby couldn't be further down her list of priorities.But when their mother Belinda passes away, she reveals a secret about the twins' father which changes everything. As Ronnie and Elizabeth travels to New York to find out more about the man they never knew, it turns out that their mother has a few more surprises in store for them. Will the sisters finally discover that they have more in common than they think?

Hachette Books Ireland

The Visitor

Zoe Miller
Authors:
Zoe Miller
Hachette Books Ireland

The Anniversary

Roisin Meaney
Authors:
Roisin Meaney
Hachette Books Ireland

The Month of Borrowed Dreams

Felicity Hayes-McCoy
Authors:
Felicity Hayes-McCoy
Hachette Books Ireland

The Blamed

Emily Hourican
Authors:
Emily Hourican
Hachette Books Ireland

Listen for the Weather

Justine Delaney Wilson
Authors:
Justine Delaney Wilson

Every act has a consequence. Every marriage has a breaking point.Beth Rogers and her family have settled well into their new life in New Zealand, far from the stifling containment of the life they knew at home in Ireland.Everything is idyllic.The children are happy and settled. Beth's marriage to Steve, and their love for each other, seems solid. Until a bombshell lands, in the form of a letter Steve receives from a woman from his past. In the envelope is a photograph of a three-year-old girl -- Beth and Steve's papered-over past has caught up with them, in the shape of this child ...Beth forgave Steve once before -- can she do it again? Does Steve want her to?Listen for the Weather is the story of a marriage. It's a story about consequences. And how we make our own weather.

Hachette Books Ireland

The Night of the Party

Rachael English
Authors:
Rachael English
Hachette Books Ireland

The Weekend Dad

Alison Walsh
Authors:
Alison Walsh

Guaranteed to appeal to fans of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls, The Weekend Dad is a warmhearted novel about parenthood, family and new beginnings.'Would you like to see some pictures?''I'd love to.' After all, what father wouldn't want to see pictures of his daughter? A father who was scared, that's who.I'm not a grown-up. I'm really not. I don't have a job, or savings, or a pension. I don't have a wife or a dog, a car or a house. But I do, suddenly, have a daughter.Six weeks ago, Emmett became a father - to seven-year-old girl Misty. Leaving Dublin for London to bond with the daughter he never knew existed seems like the right thing to do, though he's not quite sure how he fits into Misty's life, or her mother's. When Emmett knew Amanda they were both students. Today, she's a successful career woman with proper plans for her future - and he's a struggling poet, trying to connect with his daughter during their awkward weekend visits.But then Amanda surprises Emmett with an unexpected proposition, and he finds himself with some big decisions to make . . .

Hachette Books Ireland

The Mistletoe Matchmaker

Felicity Hayes-McCoy
Authors:
Felicity Hayes-McCoy
Hachette Books Ireland

Family Business

Muriel Bolger
Authors:
Muriel Bolger

Can a holiday change your life? A sparkling new novel about family, friendship and future plans from bestselling author Muriel Bolger.Young, clever and accomplished, Anne is fully committed to her career at her father's law practice - much to the delight of her parents and the not-so-hidden resentment of her younger sister Gabby. She doesn't have time to think of her dreams of art college, or, indeed, the lack of love in her life.Then Anne finds herself facing charismatic barrister Daniel Hassett in court. Equally ambitious, they seem to be the perfect match. But just as Anne and Daniel's relationship heats up, a series of shocking events force Anne to question what she really wants.Will an unexpected French inheritance be just the thing to help her decide a way forward - in law and in love? Or should she risk everything she's worked so hard for?

Hachette Books Ireland

The Street Where You Live

Roisin Meaney
Authors:
Roisin Meaney
Hachette Books Ireland

The Summer Visitors

Fiona O'Brien
Authors:
Fiona O'Brien
Hachette Books Ireland

The American Girl

Rachael English
Authors:
Rachael English
Hachette Books Ireland

The Love Book

Fiona O'Brien
Authors:
Fiona O'Brien
Hachette Books Ireland

The Wedding Promise

Emma Hannigan
Authors:
Emma Hannigan
Hachette Books Ireland

Falling Softly

Maria Duffy
Authors:
Maria Duffy
Hachette Books Ireland

Without Him

Fiona O'Brien
Authors:
Fiona O'Brien
Hachette Books Ireland

No Reservations

Fiona O'Brien
Authors:
Fiona O'Brien
Hachette Books Ireland

None of My Affair

Fiona O'Brien
Authors:
Fiona O'Brien

Beautiful, wealthy and glamorous - Carrie, Jay and Olwen have it all. But beneath the surface, cracks are beginning to show...Carrie wrestles with the decision to finally divorce her philandering husband, Rob, who can play her like a cat does a mouse. But can she live without him? Jay is married to one of the country's richest men, but as she struggles to hold on she discovers that maybe she's made the biggest mistake of all...Olwen is torn between her love for Rob, and the accompanying guilt - but doesn't true love conquer all?When Carrie's supermodel daughter, Ali, chooses the glamorous yacht Excalibur to hold her glittering wedding, a tangled web of emotions and intrigue begins to unravel, threatening everything these women hold dear.From the fleshpots of Puerto Banus to the mansions of Marbella's Golden Mile, Carrie, Jay and Olwen are forced to discover - when your world is about to be blown apart, the only person you can rely on is yourself.