Alison Walsh - The House on Seaview Road - HachetteIreland

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473612877
    • Publication date:04 May 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473612860
    • Publication date:01 Sep 2016

The House on Seaview Road

By Alison Walsh

  • Paperback
  • £13.99

In the summer of 1983, two sisters discover that promises can't always be kept ...
The House on Seaview Road is a story about first love, growing up and about the enduring bonds of sisterhood.

It's 1983, and two sisters on the cusp of adulthood grow up in a crumbling seafront house in south Dublin.

Marie Stephenson dreams of making her mark on the world but strains under the responsibility of a promise made to her dying mother. This promise, to look after her younger sister, is one she has always kept, even though Marie sometimes feels that the cosseted Grainne doesn't deserve it.

But then the sudden appearance of intense, rebellious Con on Seaview Beach one afternoon changes everything.

As her childhood comes to a sudden and shocking end, Marie must make some choices about her future.

But will she find the courage to become the woman she was meant to be?

The House on Seaview Road is a story about first love, growing up and about the enduring bonds of sisterhood.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473612853
  • Publication date: 01 Sep 2016
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Hachette Books Ireland
A brave and thought-provoking novel — Irish Independent
A humane and credible story, as relevant today as in 1983 ... A good read for fans of Joanna Trollope — Sunday Independent
Hachette Books Ireland

The Anniversary

Roisin Meaney
Authors:
Roisin Meaney

Three couples. One weekend. Everything is about to change.Lily and Charlie have separated after twenty-six years of marriage. Now, with their divorce due to come through in a matter of months and her wedding to the dependable Joe imminent, Lily decides to get thefamily together for one last weekend in Land's End, their old summer home by the sea. Lily has to break some news to Charlie, her daughter Polly and son Thomas - news she knows they're not going to be happy about.But as the family make their way to Land's End with their new partners, Lily's best laid plans are about to go awry.As Charlie's much younger girlfriend Chloe guards her own secret, Polly seems intent on sabotaging her seemingly perfect relationship, while Thomas wrestles with a decision he knows could break his family apart.And amid all the drama, they've all forgotten that this weekend also just happens to be Lily and Charlie's wedding anniversary ...Will all the couples survive the weekend intact?

Hachette Books Ireland

The Month of Borrowed Dreams

Felicity Hayes-McCoy
Authors:
Felicity Hayes-McCoy
Hachette Books Ireland

The Night of the Party

Rachael English
Authors:
Rachael English
Hachette Books Ireland

Summer at the Garden Cafe

Felicity Hayes-McCoy
Authors:
Felicity Hayes-McCoy

A heart-warming story about the healing power of books, love and friendship.A place where plans are formed and secrets are shared, the Garden Café is nestled at the heart of the town of Lissbeg, on Ireland's west coast.But Jazz - still reeling from the truth about her parents' marriage - has more on her mind than the gossip at the café. Increasingly isolated from her friends and family, she finds herself developing feelings for a man who is strictly off-limits ...Meanwhile Hanna, Lissbeg's librarian, is unaware of the turmoil in her daughter Jazz's life - until her ex-husband Malcolm makes an appearance. And she begins to wonder if the secrets she's carried for him might have done more harm than good.Then Hanna discovers a long-lost book buried in her garden. Could this help to turn Jazz's summer around, or is she too late?

Hachette Books Ireland

The Weekend Dad

Alison Walsh
Authors:
Alison Walsh

Guaranteed to appeal to fans of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls, The Weekend Dad is a warmhearted novel about parenthood, family and new beginnings.'Would you like to see some pictures?''I'd love to.' After all, what father wouldn't want to see pictures of his daughter? A father who was scared, that's who.I'm not a grown-up. I'm really not. I don't have a job, or savings, or a pension. I don't have a wife or a dog, a car or a house. But I do, suddenly, have a daughter.Six weeks ago, Emmett became a father - to seven-year-old girl Misty. Leaving Dublin for London to bond with the daughter he never knew existed seems like the right thing to do, though he's not quite sure how he fits into Misty's life, or her mother's. When Emmett knew Amanda they were both students. Today, she's a successful career woman with proper plans for her future - and he's a struggling poet, trying to connect with his daughter during their awkward weekend visits.But then Amanda surprises Emmett with an unexpected proposition, and he finds himself with some big decisions to make . . .

Hachette Books Ireland

The Mistletoe Matchmaker

Felicity Hayes-McCoy
Authors:
Felicity Hayes-McCoy

'The perfect winter heart-warmer' Cathy KellyIt's winter on the Finfarran peninsula and, as Cassie Fitzgerald, fresh from Toronto, is about to discover, there's more to Christmas on the west coast of Ireland than mistletoe and mince pies.Enchanted by the small town where her dad was born, Cassie gets involved in a competition for the best local Winter Fest, and joins local librarian Hanna Casey's writing group in Lissbeg Library. But the more she's drawn into the town's run-up to Christmas, the more questions Cassie encounters. Why does her sweet-tempered grandmother Pat find it so hard to express her feelings? What's going on between Pat and her miserly husband Ger? What happened in the past between the Fitzgeralds and Hanna's redoubtable mother Mary Casey? And what about Shay: handsome, funny, smart and intent on making Cassie's stay as exciting as he can. Is he the one for her? As Christmas Eve approaches, Cassie discovers that love, family and friendship bring the real magic to the festive season - even if the locals of Lissbeg need an outsider to help them see it.

Hachette Books Ireland

The Street Where You Live

Roisin Meaney
Authors:
Roisin Meaney
Hachette Books Ireland

The Summer Visitors

Fiona O'Brien
Authors:
Fiona O'Brien
Hachette Books Ireland

The American Girl

Rachael English
Authors:
Rachael English
Hachette Books Ireland

The Husband

Deirdre Purcell
Authors:
Deirdre Purcell
Hachette Books Ireland

Horace Winter Says Goodbye

Conor Bowman
Authors:
Conor Bowman
Hachette Books Ireland

The Library at the Edge of the World

Felicity Hayes-McCoy
Authors:
Felicity Hayes-McCoy
Hachette Books Ireland

Falling Softly

Maria Duffy
Authors:
Maria Duffy
Hachette Books Ireland

Proof

Martina Reilly
Authors:
Martina Reilly

Applegate is a small town where everyone knows each other ... or thought they did.But then Marcus Dillon finds himself on trial for the recent murder of Charles Hanratty - and the sole chance he has is the testimony of his childhood friend Sash. Because only she knows the truth about that night, fifteen years ago, when they broke into Hanratty's house.And then there's Lana, Sash's sister. Lana knows the difference between right and wrong. She sees things. She remembers them. Someone just needs to ask her the right questions.Applegate is a small town where not a lot happens ... until now.

Hachette Books Ireland

The Ponzi Man

Declan Lynch
Authors:
Declan Lynch

"All I have is a mobile home and a wife somewhere up in Dublin who despises me, and this strange feeling that I am on the brink of discovering the meaning of life ... "John Devlin has lost all that he owned, and all that a lot of other people owned, through internet gambling. His once-celebrated financial genius has now made him notorious. They are calling him the Ponzi Man.Waiting to stand trial for stealing his clients' money, he goes back to live in a caravan in a seaside resort in which he spent the summers of his childhood, where memories and living reminders of better times taunt him.John's young solicitor James tries to persuade him to embark on a programme of rehabilitation, to reduce his jail sentence. He is just a gambler, he insists, a gambler who ran out of time. But even with his trial less than a month away, he is contemplating one last big play.Richly insightful, deeply humorous, often poignant, The Ponzi Man skilfully reveals the inner-world of a man who knows every maddening thing about gambling, except how to give it up.

Hachette Books Ireland

This is Now

Ciara Geraghty
Authors:
Ciara Geraghty
Hachette Books Ireland

Someone New

Zoe Miller
Authors:
Zoe Miller

In her heart, Grace knows the perfect, reliable, good-looking Gavin isn't right for her. Then she meets Danny. Unpredictable and spontaneous, he turns her world upside down. All of a sudden, Grace is seeing life differently and doing things she never thought she'd do.But tragedy strikes when Danny dies in a motorbike accident, shattering Grace's world. As she struggles to come to terms with her loss, she becomes more and more convinced that she's being followed - sighting a motorbike exactly like Danny's everywhere she goes. And she starts to wonder if Danny's death was really an accident.When she finally voices her suspicions to her family and the police, though, no one seems willing to believe her.Meanwhile Grace feels ever more under threat as sinister things begin happening to her. What was Danny hiding from her? And what kind of danger is she in now?

Hachette Books Ireland

All That I Leave Behind

Alison Walsh
Authors:
Alison Walsh
Hachette Books Ireland

The Boy Between

Susan Stairs
Authors:
Susan Stairs

When Orla is handed an envelope by her father, she is perplexed by what she finds - a photograph of her parents, taken the summer she was born. Her heavily expectant mother, unusually, is smiling. Between her parents stands a teenage boy, her mother's arm lovingly around him.Orla later asks her father about the boy's identity, but he refuses to be drawn. Her mother's mood is low again and he doesn't want her upset. So begins the daughter's investigation, back to the summer of 1983, and the story of a young English boy on holidays in rural Ireland. As the circle closes on a web of tragedy and deceit, the truth that emerges will impact on all their lives. The Boy Between is an expertly crafted, suspenseful and ultimately hopeful story of family secrets, a fateful summer, and the long-buried events of a distant past.

Hachette Books Ireland

A Love Like This

Maria Duffy
Authors:
Maria Duffy

Will and Donna are perfect for each other.If only they could meet...Moving and romantic, A Love Like This is the perfect read for anyone who believes in destiny.William and Donna, born on the same day in Dublin, have almost met many times - on their tenth birthday, when Donna spotted Will carrying a colourful bunch of balloons; the day Will, a law student, visited the bakery where Donna worked; and an introduction by mutual friends that never came to pass. Over the years, they have kept just missing each other.Then, on a sunny day at a café in Auckland, they finally meet. And, in that moment, thousands of miles away from home, they're exactly where they're supposed to be.But a terrible disaster strikes, and they are separated - left with the memory of the brief time they had together, and dreams of what might have been.Perhaps all is not lost however, and fate will bring them together once more ...