Deirdre Purcell - The Husband - HachetteIreland

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444799408
    • Publication date:22 Sep 2016
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444799392
    • Publication date:22 Sep 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473689053
    • Publication date:05 Apr 2018

The Husband

Number One Bestseller

By Deirdre Purcell

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

A captivating novel from the incomparable Deirdre Purcell

The Husband is a gripping human story of love in its many guises, of losing everything and ultimately - in the small Midlands village of Glanmilish - of rediscovering the meaning of family.

Marian Lescher's steady if predictable life in her native Chicago is upended when she is unexpectedly swept into a love affair with Irishman Daniel Lynch, a star media renowned for his charismatic personality. Soon she has divorced her husband and, in the throes of newfound passion, finds herself quickly remarried to this extraordinary man.

Her new husband has unlocked something in Marian and she feels high on life as never before, even when a darker side to his nature begins to reveal itself.

Nothing can prepare her for what is to follow, though, as devastating circumstances lead her on a trail to Daniel's home in Ireland, and in turn back to the US, as she tries to come to terms with the enigmatic nature of the man for whom she threw it all away - only to discover that nothing was what it seemed.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444799415
  • Publication date: 06 Apr 2017
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Hachette Books Ireland
Hachette Books Ireland

The Outsiders

Emily Hourican
Authors:
Emily Hourican
Hachette Books Ireland

If Only

Melanie Murphy
Authors:
Melanie Murphy

Erin is about to turn thirty and her life is definitely not where she thought it would be. She hates her job, she's jealous of her perfect flatmate - and she has just called off her wedding.A trip home to Ireland to celebrate her birthday with her beloved grandmother is exactly what Erin needs, and she's spent days preparing herself to break the news about her broken engagement. What she's not prepared for is the gift she receives: a secret family heirloom that will change everything.Could this be the answer Erin has been looking for - the key to the happy life she's always dreamed of? Only time will tell...

Hachette Books Ireland

The Transatlantic Book Club

Felicity Hayes-McCoy
Authors:
Felicity Hayes-McCoy
Hachette Books Ireland

The Start of Summer

Alison Walsh
Authors:
Alison Walsh

'Walsh writes with a warmth and humour about the disparate lives of four new mothers over one summer in Dublin. Each struggles with her own secrets and insecurities in a modern Ireland that asserts its pressures. This is a touching, enjoyable tale of friendship in all of its complexities.' Anne GriffinA long, hot summer has just begun, and three women gather together in the park, in the shade of the trees, forming a tight circle. New mothers, they keep each other close, sharing gossip, parenting wisdom and deep secrets. Uptight, super-organised Gracie seems to have adapted to motherhood with ease, but secretly she wonders if the cost - to her job and her relationship - is too high. Free-spirited Lina is a single parent by choice, but a surprise arrival makes her question everything she's taken for granted. And shy Jane must face up to the consequences of a painful decision she made years ago.One day, a fellow new mother, looking lonely and a bit lost, asks to join them - and the circle opens to let her in.Gradually, the foundations of their lives begin to crumble and their connections to each other begin to fray, each woman is forced to confront unwelcome truths about herself...A novel about the close bonds of female friendship and the emotional undercurrents that underpin them, The Start of Summer looks at that time when life changes utterly, never to be the same again.

Hachette Books Ireland

Hughie Mittman's Fear of Lawnmowers

Conor Bowman
Authors:
Conor Bowman
Hachette Books Ireland

The Anniversary

Roisin Meaney
Authors:
Roisin Meaney
Hachette Books Ireland

The Gift of Friends

Emma Hannigan
Authors:
Emma Hannigan
Hachette Books Ireland

The Month of Borrowed Dreams

Felicity Hayes-McCoy
Authors:
Felicity Hayes-McCoy
Hachette Books Ireland

The Night of the Party

Rachael English
Authors:
Rachael English
Hachette Books Ireland

Horace Winter Says Goodbye

Conor Bowman
Authors:
Conor Bowman
Hachette Books Ireland

The Christmas Voyage

Deirdre Purcell
Authors:
Deirdre Purcell
Hachette Books Ireland

The Mistletoe Matchmaker

Felicity Hayes-McCoy
Authors:
Felicity Hayes-McCoy

'The perfect winter heart-warmer' Cathy KellyIt's winter on the Finfarran peninsula and, as Cassie Fitzgerald, fresh from Toronto, is about to discover, there's more to Christmas on the west coast of Ireland than mistletoe and mince pies.Enchanted by the small town where her dad was born, Cassie gets involved in a competition for the best local Winter Fest, and joins local librarian Hanna Casey's writing group in Lissbeg Library. But the more she's drawn into the town's run-up to Christmas, the more questions Cassie encounters. Why does her sweet-tempered grandmother Pat find it so hard to express her feelings? What's going on between Pat and her miserly husband Ger? What happened in the past between the Fitzgeralds and Hanna's redoubtable mother Mary Casey? And what about Shay: handsome, funny, smart and intent on making Cassie's stay as exciting as he can. Is he the one for her? As Christmas Eve approaches, Cassie discovers that love, family and friendship bring the real magic to the festive season - even if the locals of Lissbeg need an outsider to help them see it.

Hachette Books Ireland

Summer at the Garden Cafe

Felicity Hayes-McCoy
Authors:
Felicity Hayes-McCoy

A heart-warming story about secrets between four generations of women and the healing power of books, love and friendship.The Garden Café, in the town of Lissbeg on Ireland's Finfarran Peninsula, is a place where plans are formed and secrets shared ...But Jazz - still reeling from her father's disclosures about the truth of his marriage to her mother, Hanna - has more on her mind than the comings and goings at the café. Now isolated from friends and family and fixating on her new job at a local guesthouse, she's started to develop feelings for a man who is strictly off limits . . .Meanwhile Hanna, Lissbeg's librarian, is unaware of the turmoil in her daughter's life - until her ex-husband Malcolm makes an appearance and she begins to wonder if the secrets she's carried for him might have harmed Jazz more than she'd realised.As things heat up in Lissbeg, can the old book Hanna finds buried in her own clifftop garden help Jazz?

Hachette Books Ireland

The American Girl

Rachael English
Authors:
Rachael English
Hachette Books Ireland

The House on Seaview Road

Alison Walsh
Authors:
Alison Walsh

The House on Seaview Road is a story about first love, growing up and about the enduring bonds of sisterhood. Perfect reading for fans of Joanna Trollope and Maggie O'Farrell.Marie Stephenson has decided that it's her last summer in Seaview - just a few months left before she can break free of her suburban home, go out into the world and make her mark. If only it weren't for the promise she made to her dying mother. This promise, to look after her younger sister, is one she has always kept, even though Marie sometimes feels that the cosseted Grainne doesn't deserve it.But then the sudden appearance of intense, rebellious Con on Seaview Beach one afternoon changes everything.As her innocence comes to a sudden and shocking end, Marie must make some choices about her future.But will she find the courage to become the woman she was meant to be?

Hachette Books Ireland

The Library at the Edge of the World

Felicity Hayes-McCoy
Authors:
Felicity Hayes-McCoy

"A charming and heartwarming story."-Jenny Colgan, New York Times bestselling author of The Cafe by the SeaHanna Casey, local librarian on the West Coast of Ireland's Finfarran Peninsula, is wondering where it all went wrong ...As she drives her mobile library van between farms and villages she tries not to think of the sophisticated London lifestyle she abandoned after finding her barrister husband in bed with another woman. Or that she's living in the back bedroom of her mother's retirement bungalow in the small town she walked away from in her teens.Now with her daughter Jazz travelling the world, and her relationship with her mother growing increasingly fraught, Hanna is determined to reclaim her independence.But when the threatened closure of the library puts her plans in jeopardy, she finds herself leading a battle to restore the heart and soul of Finfarran's fragmented community. Hanna's about to discover that the neighbours she's always kept at a distance have come to mean more to her than she ever could have imagined. But will she find the new life she's been searching for?"The Library at The Edge of the World is a delicious feast of a novel. Sink in and feel enveloped by the beautiful world of Felicity Hayes-McCoy." -Cathy Kelly, bestselling author of Between Sisters and Secrets of a Happy Marriage

Hachette Books Ireland

The Love Book

Fiona O'Brien
Authors:
Fiona O'Brien
Hachette Books Ireland

Faithful Place

Tana French
Authors:
Tana French

The course of Frank Mackey's life was set by one defining moment when he was nineteen. The moment his girlfriend, Rosie Daly, failed to turn up for their rendezvous in Faithful Place, failed to run away with him to London as they had planned. Frank never heard from her again. Twenty years on, Frank is still in Dublin, working as an undercover cop. He's cut all ties with his dysfunctional family. Until his sister calls to say that Rosie's suitcase has been found. Frank embarks on a journey into his past that demands he reevaluate everything he believes to be true.

Hachette Books Ireland

The Likeness

Tana French
Authors:
Tana French

Detective Cassie Maddox is still trying to deal with the events of In the Woods. She is out of the Murder Squad and has started a relationship with fellow detective Sam ONeill but is too badly shaken to commit to Sam or to her career.Then Sam is allocated a new case, that of a young woman stabbed to death just outside Dublin. He calls Cassie to the murder scene and she finds the victim is strangely familiar. In fact, she is Cassies double.Not only that, but her ID says she is Lexie Madison the identity Cassie used, years ago, as an undercover detective.With no leads, no suspects and no clues, Cassies old undercover boss spots the opportunity of a lifetime: to send Cassie undercover in the dead girls place. She could pick up information the police would never hear and tempt the killer to finish the job.So Cassie moves into Whitethorn House, poses as a post-grad student, and prepares to enter Lexies world

Hachette Books Ireland

In The Woods

Tana French
Authors:
Tana French

When he was twelve years old, Adam Ryan went playing in the woods one day with his two best friends. He never saw them again. Their bodies were never found, and Adam himself was discovered with his back pressed against an oak tree and his shoes filled with blood. He had no memory of what had happened. Twenty years on, Rob Ryan - the child who came back - is a detective in the Dublin police force. He's changed his name. No one knows about his past. Then a little girl's body is found at the site of the old tragedy and Rob is drawn back into the mystery. Knowing that he would be thrown off the case if his past were revealed, Rob takes a fateful decision to keep quiet but hope that he might also solve the twenty-year-old mystery of the woods.