Henrietta McKervey - HachetteIreland

Henrietta McKervey



Henrietta McKervey was born in Belfast and now lives in Dublin.
She is the author of What Becomes of Us and The Heart of Everything.
Violet Hill is her third novel.
@hmckervey
www.henriettamckervey.com

Books currently available by this author

Date published: New > Old

Hachette Books Ireland

Violet Hill

Henrietta McKervey
Authors:
Henrietta McKervey
Hachette Books Ireland

The Heart of Everything

Henrietta McKervey
Authors:
Henrietta McKervey

The Heart of Everything is a taut and compelling account of the nature of family relationships and the uneasy grasp of the past over the present. Perfect for fans of Anne Tyler and Maggie O'Farrell.Mags Jensen begins her day as she always does - with a list. Once it is complete, she lays the table for lunch, spritzes perfume on her wrists and shuts the front door behind her.That afternoon, her daughter Anita is irritated to discover the house empty. But as afternoon turns to evening, irritation turns to fear, her mother's recent tests for early-stage dementia looming in Anita's mind.As the hours tick by with no word from Mags, the siblings are summoned home to join the search. Over several days, old tensions rise to the surface, harking back to an earlier tragedy that splintered the family. Powerful revelations take hold between the siblings, and their efforts to find Mags become increasingly frantic, as they are forced to ask: will they ever see their mother again?

Hachette Books Ireland

What Becomes of Us

Henrietta McKervey
Authors:
Henrietta McKervey

When Maria Mills flees London with only a suitcase and her young daughter, she is intent on a new life. To hide from her past, she has carefully constructed a story based on a lie even her child believes is true.It is 1965 and Dublin is a city on the cusp of change. As the country prepares to commemorate the 1916 Rising, Maria meets Tess McDermott, a former member of Cumann na mBan. Tess saw active service during the Rising and Maria soon realises that she, too, is closely guarding a secret. Set against the backdrop of stifling social mores alongside a defiant new wave of women's liberation, What Becomes of Us is a beautifully told story of the delicate balance between risk and survival, of nationhood and of the struggle to carve out a new identity when the past refuses to let go.