Related to: 'Our Books'

Hachette Books Ireland

The Moment We Meet

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

Who you meet can change your life for ever ... A wonderful collection of short stories from Sheila O'Flanagan, bestselling author of The Hideaway and What Happened That NightA young PR girl has the night of her life at a glitzy word event and finds more than just her face splashed across the newspapers the next day.Two women listen in on each other's phone calls and learn more about themselves than they ever expected. And a wife faces up to the truth that her husband isn't a man she feels safe with.Everyone aboard this train is on a journey - and they all have a story to tell...Previously published as Destinations.

Hachette Books Ireland

Christmas With You

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

Sheila O'Flanagan's romantic and heart-warming Christmas With You is perfect festive reading for fans of Veronica Henry, Carole Matthews and Marian Keyes. These enchanting linked short stories from the No. 1 bestselling author bring to life one unforgettable Christmas full of surprise twists, life-changing moments...and love.Tucked away in the Irish countryside, the Sugar Loaf Lodge is opening its door for the festive season. With snow falling on the mountains outside and warm fires roaring inside, it's the perfect place for guests to celebrate the happiest time of the year. But what if you've just had your heart broken? Or discovered that the man you're married to has lied to you? What if a secret from your past has finally come back to haunt you?For some of the guests arriving at the Sugar Loaf Lodge, Christmas is looking far from tranquil. But can they find the magic and romance of the season within the walls of this beautiful hotel?These enchanting linked stories bring to life one unforgettable Christmas full of surprise twists, life-changing moments ... and love.Christmas With You was previously published as A Season to Remember. Now with two poignant new stories added.

Hachette Books Ireland

The Christmas Voyage

Deirdre Purcell
Authors:
Deirdre Purcell
Hachette Books Ireland

Blood, Sweat and McAteer

Jason McAteer
Authors:
Jason McAteer
Hachette Books Ireland

A Love Like This

Maria Duffy
Authors:
Maria Duffy
Hachette Books Ireland

Hanging with the Elephant

Michael Harding
Authors:
Michael Harding

In his new book, Hanging with the Elephant, writer Michael Harding is back in Leitrim in the north-west of Ireland. His wife has left for a six-week trip to Poland and he is alone for the first time since his illness two years earlier. Faced with this time on his own, Harding resolves to examine the threat of depression that is a constant presence in his life and his dependency on his wife, the beloved, since his illness. But, as he attempts to tame the 'elephant' - an Asian metaphor for the unruly mind - he finds himself drawn back to the death of his mother during the summer of 2012.Written with unflinching honesty, Hanging with the Elephant begins as one man's quest to overcome his demons, but becomes a journey into the depths of the soul, where we are given a glimpse of the one thing that holds us all.

Hachette Books Ireland

Rala

Patrick O'Reilly
Authors:
Patrick O'Reilly

Hachette Books Ireland

Perfect Wives

Emma Hannigan
Authors:
Emma Hannigan

When actress Jodi Ludlum returns home to Ireland to raise her young son in the leafy South Dublin village of Bakers Valley, she's determined to shield him from the media spotlight that has dogged her throughout her glittering career. Even if coming home means leaving her husband - and waking old ghosts.Meanwhile, Francine Hennessy, queen of the coffee mornings, was born and raised in Bakers Valley. She takes pride in juggling her children, her beautiful home and her high-powered career. But behind closed doors, Francine's life is crumbling around her.As Jodi struggles to keep her secrets to herself, and Francine comes to terms with some life-changing news, the two become unlikely friends. When they do, they quickly discover that there's no such thing as the perfect wife, or the perfect life - but sometimes it's better to be happy than to be perfect.

Hachette Books Ireland

Where God Hides

Liam Lawton
Authors:
Liam Lawton
Hachette Books Ireland

The Ecstasy and the Agony

Damien Tiernan
Authors:
Damien Tiernan

In 1998, a determined Waterford hurling team made their way to their first All-Ireland semi-final in almost forty years, their sights firmly set on the final, which would be their first since 1963.But destiny conspired against them and they lost. Over the next twelve years they would, time and time again, play spell-binding hurling, reach the Semi-Finals seven times, Player of the Year Awards and multiple All-Star honours and come agonisingly close to winning one of the biggest prizes in Irish sport. In The Ecstasy and the Agony, Damien Tiernan goes behind the scenes and takes an unflinchingly honest look at how such a great team can come so close to major triumphs but still walked away without the top honours. In over sixty interviews with key players, backroom staff, selectors and managers including Justin McCarthy, Paul Flynn, Davy Fitzgerald, Dan Shanahan, Eoin Kelly, Stephen Molumphy, Ken McGrath, Gerald McCarthy, and many others - Tiernan examines the controversies that have dogged Waterford hurling in recent years. Who are the leaders? What are the key moments around which victory and defeat revolve? And what, ultimately, are the lessons learned? The Ecstasy and the Agony is the full and honest account of a team who will never stop believing.

Hachette Books Ireland

Scandal Nation

Shane Coleman, Mick Clifford
Authors:
Shane Coleman, Mick Clifford
Hachette Books Ireland

Black Sheep

Arlene Hunt
Authors:
Arlene Hunt

Black Sheep is the powerful new thriller by Arlene Hunt. The brutally murdered body of a young girl is discovered in the Wicklow mountains. Her identity is unknown. One month later David Reid, a successful designer, is found dead in a Dublin canal. Close to his body is a broken silver key ring with the words Meridian Club on it. Gardai are keen to chalk it up to death by misadventure, but his brother refuses to accept their findings, and enlists the help of rookie detectives John Quigley and Sarah Kenny of QuicK Investigations. As the investigation progresses, Sarah and John begin to learn that there was more to David Reid than his brother knew. And in no time at all, the body count is rising and everyone is lying to protect their own. What happened to David Reid that night? Is he connected to the young dead girl? What is the Meridian Club? As John and Sarah struggle to find the answers to those questions, little do the realise their investigation is starting to ruffle the feathers of one very dangerous man . . .

Hachette Books Ireland

The Hope Prayer

Liam Lawton
Authors:
Liam Lawton

In this beautifully designed gift hardback, Liam Lawton offers prayers, affirmation and poetry on a host of topics that concern the world today - loss, loneliness, companionship, love, hope, depression, strife in the world, finding God. Will Include song lyrics and the author's own stories.Original prayers include: The Angel Prayer, The Working Prayer, The Calm Prayer, The Christmas Prayer, The Healing Prayer, The Life Prayer and many more. All affirmations of love and peace.

Hachette Books Ireland

Creating Ireland

Paul Daly
Authors:
Paul Daly
Hachette Books Ireland

Axel

Anthony Foley
Authors:
Anthony Foley

On 20 May 2006, Anthony Foley held aloft the European Cup for Munster and cemented his position as a legend of Irish rugby. With a father who played for Munster and Ireland and who was a member of the team that conquered the All Blacks it was no surprise that the young Anthony took to the game and he has shone on every team he has played for from the St Munchin's Junior Cup team to the Irish national side.He was part of the Shannon side that dominated the 1990s, winning four All-Ireland league titles in a row and played in all forty-eight games in that amazing record.In a memorable debut for Ireland, he scored a try against England in 1995 and went on to gain over sixty caps and captain his country.But it is with Munster his true band of brothers that Anthony is most identified. He is the provinces most capped player, holds the record for the most tries in all competitions and he has led the Red Army to glory in the Celtic League, the Celtic Cup and, of course, the European Cup.In Axel, Anthony looks back at his outstanding career and lets us in on what makes one of the last, great amateur players tick.

Hachette Books Ireland

Connections

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

In this wonderful collection of interlinked short stories we are transported to the Caribbean island resort of White Sands. In touching, poignant and delicious tales Sheila O'Flanagan introduces some of the most likeable and interesting characters she's created. There's Tara, who's arrived with the man she wants to marry only to find that an old rejected lover is planning to get in the way; Grainne, who's been sent with her husband by their children to celebrate the anniversary of a shotgun wedding twenty-five years earlier, and who thinks the time has come to move on - or has it? Rudy's on an idyllic break with his young son which is set for an unexpected ending; and Isobel - of ISOBEL'S WEDDING - has arrived with no idea that her old lover Nico might be staying just next door. Romance is very much alive in the hot Caribbean nights...

Hachette Books Ireland

Tell Me Your Secret

Deirdre Purcell
Authors:
Deirdre Purcell

An evocative and dramatic novel told in the voices of two narrators: Violet, who in 1944 is imprisoned in the tower of a rambling country house by her family; and Claudine, a modern-day property negotiator who becomes involved in handling the sale of the derelict Whitecliff in 2004. Violet's story is of young innocent love for a local lad taking an unfortunate twist, while Claudine is a thoroughly twenty-first-century character: daughter of a loving father with a less loving stepmother, she marries in haste after her father's death, and is at a turning point in her life when she starts to find out the true story of Violet. Is happiness a possibility for these women in their separate and very different worlds?

Hachette Books Ireland

Pieces of Me

Roisin Ingle
Authors:
Roisin Ingle
Hachette Books Ireland

Destinations

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

Destinations reveals the inside track on the lives of ordinary commuters, and uncovers the hidden links that lie beneath the surface of 'anonymous' city lives.Two eavesdropping passengers learn more than they bargained for; an office-party fling has unforeseen consequences; a suburban housewife is forced to face her estranged mother - and her thorny past; an office worker finds her commute to work livened up by the daily sightings of a handsome stranger; a hot date with the office stud gets off to a disastrous start ... is there light at the end of the tunnel?Destinations - tales that go the distance with you, from one of Ireland's best-loved storytellers.

Our Privacy Policy